Open Source

I used to think xkcd was funny. Then, one day, I realised that they were just stripping off my pet peeves and posting them online. Was that ever shocking. So, basically, that constitutes violation of free thought, and robbing me of the glory I deserve. But then, I always see that the comic is registered under Creative Commons, and immediately settle down. That, and the fact that my geek wifi seems to transgress spatial and temporal boundaries, and does not seem to require administrative privileges to be accessed.

Now, this is supposed to either cheer me up no end, or infuriate me to a similar degree. I cannot decide which.

7 thoughts on “Open Source

  1. Murty says:

    I guess it’s supposed to cheer you up. Some people can actually read your mind/ understand you, by the looks of it.

  2. Shreyas says:

    My recommendations:
    http://abstrusegoose.com/ … More mathematical.
    http://pcweenies.com – More Tech

  3. Raps says:

    Well, you see, that is why I like xkcd. I have a reasonable interest in most fields, including paleontology, computers, mathematics, theoretical physics, literature etc. etc. Most of the other comics are subject specific. Eg. Penny Arcade, which is one of the most popular webcomics, is mostly into gaming. My own gaming knowledge is too shallow to follow it.

  4. Saagar says:

    “I have a reasonable interest in most fields, including paleontology, computers, mathematics, theoretical physics, literature etc. etc.”
    The line that says it all

  5. Ahuja says:

    Try a thought experiment. Think about something that you think xkcd cannot possibly cover within the domains of what they cover right now. If they then cover it, consider manipulating xkcd content for petty bets and peer respect.

    Alternatively, either put a root password on your thoughts or set a mental-wi-fi-radiowave-jammer (I am sure you will be able to figure out a way of doing both of these things ) and put xkcd out of business, and then partner with Randall Munroe(or stike out on your own) to set up a newly resurrected xkcd, a.k.a RAPU, a webcomic of ” “,sarcasm, math , language, paleontology, computers, theoretical physics, literature etc. etc.

  6. PeeTeeVee says:

    Ha. I’ve been here before and I can empathize Rapu. And I second Lefty… 🙂

  7. Dela says:

    I second (third?) Lefty and the Canine.

    I don’t get half the jokes on XKCD, but, as strange as it may sound, I find that strangely reassuring. There is nothing quite as comforting as the knowledge that there are bigger geeks with sadder lives out there in the big, bad world.

    On another note, how is life in the land of lumberjacks, Rufus Wainwright and Robin Scherbatsky?

Leave a Reply

